First love: Butterfly

Butterfly by Kathryn Harvey is one of the first romance books I remember reading. It was my mom’s and I probably picked it up while home from college. It was the first time I’d read a book with such vivid sex scenes, and where those scenes were important to the story in a different way from usual, because they weren’t about the development of a relationship between one man and one woman.

Butterfly cvr

I remember going back to Butterfly again and again, throughout college and grad school, sometimes just reading a scene or two (you can guess which scenes). Having been a late bloomer, those were years when I was exploring my sexuality, and I was captivated by those scenes.

Butterfly is the story of Beverly Highland, a successful entrepreneur who secretly runs a high class brothel for women in Beverly Hills, and how she became who she is today and how she plans to take revenge on someone who put her on her path. Beverly’s story is interspersed with the stories of three of the brothel’s patrons, their sexual fantasies, and why they need the brothel.

Until I wrote this post, I had no idea Butterfly was the first in a trilogy. I’ll have to go back and read the other two!

What romance was your first love?

Bisous,
Tori

* There are several covers of this book because it has been reissued several times, but this is the cover of the book I own.

Leave a Reply

