First Love: Howl’s Moving Castle

I’d loved romantic stories for years, but Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones was one that made an impression on me as a teen. This particular story made me want to create a romance novel of my own — which is funny, because it’s not a traditional “romance novel.” Technically, it’s a children’s novel.

2294528

Besides the literal magic in the story, as main character Sophie is transformed into an old woman by the powers of an evil witch, there was something magical about the interaction between the two main characters. Sophie and Howl had a connection that was based on caring about each other as people. Don’t get me wrong, it’s fun to read about characters lusting over each other in other romantic fiction, but this story stayed with me because of how genuine their love was. I just loved every time Sophie and Howl had a scene together.

Although I don’t write anything fantasy-related, Howl’s Moving Castle is one of many inspirations of mine, and one I’ll still return back to again and again.

Till Next Time,
Sibyl

(P.S. The movie is also fantastic, too!)

3 thoughts on “First Love: Howl’s Moving Castle

Leave a Reply

