First Love: This Lullaby

this-lullaby-by-sarah-dessen1

This book was given to me before I read a lot of YA fiction, and before I read a lot of romance (other than those paperbacks my grandma used to hide from me). I have extremely fond memories of reading this book while on vacation with my husband, early on in our marriage. It features Remy, a girl who doesn’t believe in lasting love and tends to push people away. She’s driven and successful in school and in her part-time job, and she also parties and doesn’t put a lot of stock in her love life. Then she meets Dexter, and–you guessed it–everything changes.

Except it doesn’t happen that easily, of course.

If I’m remembering correctly, I first read this book in 2004, and I’ve read it several times since. It’s funny and full of heart, and I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

